Australian Curriculum

Buidling foundations for global citizens

The Australian National Curriculum Framework has been designed and developed by the Australian Academic Program Assessment and Reporting Authority since 2009 with a consistent and rigorous curriculum from grades 1-12.

The highlights of the Australian National Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum emphasizes critical thinking, teamwork, communication, and creativity. These skills are crucial in preparing students to be ready for the constantly changing world.

The program’s strengths lie in ensuring quality and consistency in education, both in Australia and internationally. It reflects the modern education trend, combining academic knowledge and life skills to help students achieve solid achievements for both the present and the future.

For instance, in English, students explore joy through storytelling, narrative, and writing to cultivate a love for language and culture. Mathematics encourages problem-solving and logical thinking through activities related to numbers, geometry, and measurement. Science fosters curiosity and scientific thinking through exploring the world and natural phenomena.

Art subjects like music and art develop creativity and self-expression. Technology helps students develop digital skills for the modern era. Physical education and health education promote both physical and mental well-being.

8 Learning Areas

The training program identifies and organizes the necessary knowledge, understanding, and skills that students should learn in 8 learning areas across from Primary to High School, in which 4 areas of study include English, Math, Science, Health, and Physical Education. In addition, the remaining 4 areas of Social Sciences and Humanities, Arts, Technology, and Languages will be divided into many different subjects.

  • Humanities and Social Sciences: Citizenship, Economics and Business, Geography, and History
  • Arts: Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music and Visual Arts
  • Technology: Design, Technology, and Digital Technology
  • Language

7 General Capabilities

The curriculum is designed to help promote seven competencies required of learners, including:

  • Literary
  • Numeracy
  • Information and communication technology (ICT)
  • Innovation and creativity
  • Personal and Social capabilities
  • Ethical understanding
  • Intercutural understanding

These capabilities are built and developed through the teaching of the contents of each of the above areas of learning. Therefore, to comprehensively develop the seven personal competencies, students must make efforts to study, explore, and create through different subjects in their field of study.

Australian Curriculum at Nam Uc Scotch AGS

At Nam Uc Scotch AGS, the curriculum is designed based on the Australian Curriculum. Students will study the Australian curriculum from primary to high school combined with the number of subjects offered by the Vietnamese Ministry of Education and Training. This combination helps students build a solid core knowledge foundation, be good at foreign languages, master life skills, and maximize their own capabilities. As a result, students will become confident, brave citizens who compete with friends around the world while still preserving their Vietnamese awareness and cultural understanding.

Scotch College Adelaide – An international school system with more than 100 years of establishment and development in Australia has been presented in Vietnam with the launch of the South Australian Primary, Middle, and High School System – Scotch AGS.

At Scotch AGS, students learn an Australian-standard academic program from Grades 1 to 12. At the Primary and Middle levels, the Scotch AGS program is designed based on the Australian National Curriculum. At High School, students can study the SACE, a program recognized globally so that students can enter the world's top 1% universities in Australia, the UK, the USA, Canada, and Singapore.

With a mission to train every student to become a global citizen with leadership and lifelong learning competency, we focus on harnessing the full potential of academic, cultural, musical, and athletic intelligence. Students are trained in a holistic mental health environment that encourages their learning and promotes their awareness of community values.

Scotch AGS campuses

  • Campus 1: 05 Truong Quoc Dung, Ward 8, Phu Nhuan District
  • Campus 2: 300 Hoa Binh, Hiep Tan Ward, Tan Phu District

Admissions Office

  • Address: 41-43 Vo Van Tan, Vo Thi Sau Ward, District 03, HCMC
  • Phone: (028) 398.98.999
  • Email:

Sign up for consultation

*Please complete the information

1Parents' information

Select Title*

Full name*



Relationship with student*


2Students' information

Full name*


Date of birth*

3Consulted information